New chicken mom

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by Freespiritjodi, Jun 19, 2016.

1. Freespiritjodi

Freespiritjodi New Egg

Jun 19, 2016
    Hi! This is my first year raising chickens. I have 3 barred rocks, 2 golden comets and 1 Rhode Island red. They are not yet old enough to lay eggs. So far they all get along and I'm looking forward to my first egg! I followed BYC ON Facebook and decided to join so I can learn what's good for my girls!

2. BantamFan4Life

BantamFan4Life LOOK WHAT YOU MADE ME DO. Premium Member

Jun 15, 2012
    Washington
    My Coop
    Welcome to BYC! I'm glad you joined us! :)

3. Jucodeo

Jucodeo The Sky is Falling!

Jun 15, 2016
    [​IMG] and [​IMG]
    Hey freespiritjodi! I can tell you from experience that Rhode Island Reds are great breeds to own. My Rhode Island Red is very fun and nice and loves to get picked up. The Barred Rocks can be a little restless, but they lay better eggs in my opinion than Rhode Island Red.
    Since you are new to chickens I will leave you the link to the most prominent learning area on this site our Learning Center a place with updated articles for old and new chicken raisers! https://www.backyardchickens.com/atype/1/Learning_Center I hope you enjoy BYC and make sure to post pictures of your flock and give us updates on how you are doing here https://www.backyardchickens.com/f/40/family-life-stories-pictures-updates All the best of luck to you and your flock!
    Justin [​IMG]

1 person likes this.
  4. uncertainty

uncertainty Chillin' With My Peeps

Oct 18, 2015
    Great White North