New Chicken Owner...and a little frustrated

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by Wolflady2223, Dec 10, 2013.

1. Wolflady2223

Wolflady2223 Out Of The Brooder

Dec 4, 2013
    So I am new to chickens. Someone on craigslist gave me their coop and 6 hens that she told me were about 6 months old originally. It turns out now that she says they are closer to 9 months old, but began laying at 6 months. I have a RIR, 2 buff orpingtons, 2 americanas, and a barred rock. I got them about a week ago. They are allowed out of the pen daily to forage and then they go back in their coop at night plus i give them layered chicken pellets/scraps.

The day after we got them I had them out all day and put a few back in during mid day. Shortly thereafter I found 2 eggs in the pen, both a medium brown color. The next day - nothing. The following day 1 brown egg again. Since then there has been nothing. I tried putting a non-heated light in the cage and putting it on a timer for 4am so they have light for about 12 hrs. a day to encourage laying, but still nothing. I live in CT so it is a bit colder but I have heard that first year chickens don't really stop laying, or that the lamp will help with production, and it has to be really cold for them to halt altogether.

I guess I am just wondering if I am doing anything wrong here?? Am I expecting too much from these girls? What else can i do to help?

2. OneLostHen

OneLostHen Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 29, 2012
    Santa Fe, TX
    Usually the move itself into a new location is enough to have them stop laying for a few days. That are learning the new schedule and surroundings!
    They'll adjust in time!

3. ggarratt

ggarratt Chillin' With My Peeps

May 7, 2010
    Midcoast, Maine