New Chicken Owner with "Rescued" Chickens

Discussion in 'Coop & Run - Design, Construction, & Maintenance' started by lizcg, Aug 23, 2014.

1. lizcg

lizcg New Egg

Aug 23, 2014
    Hello everyone! My DH and I bought a house about a month ago that came with 2 chickens. Unfortunately, the previous owner was pretty clueless, and really had no business "caring" for chickens (I use the term loosely). He had no idea how old the chickens are, no idea what breed, showed me a few dusty, dried out pails of chicken feed, an algae covered watering system, and some overheated chickens in their rickety coop, without any access to shade. I live in Texas, outside of San Antonio, and it has been over 100F daily for weeks. I was so upset for those birds! That is just not right! I feel like we "rescued" them. I don't know a lot about chickens, but I'm a licensed vet tech, so I know enough to say "This isn't good, this needs to be fixed".

I have not been able to make any changes to their existing coop and run yet, other than put up some canvas to give them shade, get better feed, and toss the gross watering system (which was no more than an old aquarium pump in half of an algae covered kitty litter bucket), and toss out the old cedar mulch he was using in the next boxes.

We have a LARGE shed on our property, 10' x 20', wood with a metal roof, loft, and built on a cement slab. I want to convert the shed into a coop, with plans to add more birds. We have no other use for the shed, and otherwise will take it down. The shed faces west, and gets blasted with sun pretty much all day.