New chickens and dogs, Help!

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by Lam005, Nov 8, 2013.

1. Lam005

Lam005 New Egg

Nov 8, 2013
    Hi Everyone! I am new to BYC and to the whole idea of raising chickens. We just moved and now have 21 acres and would really like to have come chicks.
    Little background: We have a terrible tick problem here! This is what brought on the whole idea of having chickens (not to mention all the other +'s!) Every day we pull at least 5-10 ticks off each dog. We have heard several times that the chickens will help take care of that problem.
    For that reason, I would really like to have them free range. But I have a few concerns with that.
    One being that I don't want them down by the road. Our house sits about 500 feet from the road, but it is pretty busy anyway. Is there anyway I can teach/train the chickens to stay up by the house?
    Second, I have 2 large dogs. 1 GSD, collie mix and 1 GSD rott mix. Both well behaved but do love to chase squirrels & deer. I plan on teaching them to "love the babies" which shouldn't be a problem but how can I keep them from eating all the poop?!
    Dumb question I know, dogs love poop. But if I only have 6 chicks roaming 2-3 acres, will it be enough poop to make the dogs sick?

We may end up having to go with a fenced in area for the chickens but if anyone has any advice/knowledge it would be greatly appreciated! We will be getting them in the Spring so I have all Winter to come up with a game plan! Thanks everyone!!!

2. enola

enola Overrun With Chickens

Very few dogs eat enough poop to make themselves sick. My dogs pick up little "snacks" regularly. I always tell my boy friend to make sure they don't lick him because they have been eating things that he doesn't even want to know about. :)

3. MsChickenMomma

MsChickenMomma Overrun With Chickens

Dec 2, 2012
    Michigan