1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

New Chickens, new surroundings

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by grampsjim, Feb 7, 2014.

1. grampsjim

grampsjim Out Of The Brooder

Feb 6, 2014
    Ardmore, Oklahoma
    I am very new to raising chickens. We had them when I was a kid at home and they were the truest of free range with a coop and run at night if someone remembered to put them up.
    My hubby and I just bought 2 full grown australorps and 2 full grown white laced wyandots along with 6 pullets. I know the pullets are still too young to start laying but the grown ups where laying in their previous home.
    My question is how long will it take the hens to adjust and starting laying? It is rather cold here for SE Okla.
    They have a nice home made coop and safe run...

2. Wisher1000

Wisher1000 Bama Biddy

Could take as long as a couple of months. If they are not laying by April, I'd be worried, otherwise, all in due time! It could be tomorrow! Be patient.

Welcome to BYC!

3. kingfrodo

kingfrodo Chillin' With My Peeps

Nov 22, 2013
    Enterprise, AL
    when I first started I bought four pullets that were recently started laying. it only took three days for my first egg. Like Wisher said it could be tomorrow or a month from now.

[​IMG]

4. aart

aart Chicken Juggler! Premium Member

Nov 27, 2012
    SW Michigan
    My Coop
    When I got my 18 month old layers they laid within 24 hours, they were encouraged by their rooster who checked out the nests and called to them...but your mileage may vary.

Just keep them cooped up until they home in on their new coop and nests. Maybe put a few golf balls in the nests to show them where.

1 person likes this.
  5. Happy Chooks

Happy Chooks Moderator Staff Member

Jul 9, 2009
    Northern CA