New Chickens tried to kill my young Rooster

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by Iluvmychickens, Jun 27, 2007.

1. Iluvmychickens

Iluvmychickens Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 27, 2007
    Jacksonville, Florida
    HELP- I have a young 4 month old rooster (he was suppossed to be a chicken) anyway, I got 2 1yr old hens today and when I put the hens with the rooster he immediatlety went after the hens. The one larger hen in turn ripped the throat out of my young rooster. Somebody please help. I am new to being a Chicken MAMA

Thanks,
    DeeDee Darveau

2. Whirlwind

Whirlwind Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 14, 2007
    Tuttle, Oklahoma
    Oh goodness. So sorry I am not much help here but someone else will be along soon to help.

I have older hens and will introduce new young ones soon. It makes me nervous.

3. missfitfarm

missfitfarm Out Of The Brooder

Jun 26, 2007
    my hensalso do not like my rooster they have tried to kill him so i built him his own house and paired him with my bantum girl because she loves him my other hens free range all day and i cant let him because they chase him down so i gave him a friend and he is happy in the pen with her although at this time he is again alone because he was trying to get the new chicks the bantum hatched a few days ago i hope i can put him back in with her and the babies soon and i hope he dosnt try to hurt them ill let ya know

4. BirdBrain

BirdBrain Prefers Frozen Tail Feathers

May 7, 2007
    Alaska
    Are you wanting help with the wound or what to do with your roo?

5. Iluvmychickens

Jun 27, 2007
    Jacksonville, Florida
    I need help with why the hens are trying to kill the young rooster.

6. Southern28Chick

Southern28Chick Flew The Coop

Apr 16, 2007
    What? They really ripped his throat out!!! Am I reading this right?

7. BeckyLa

BeckyLa Chillin' With My Peeps

Jan 11, 2007
    N. Louisiana
    [​IMG] I'm so sorry your roo got hurt, I hope he'll be ok.