New chickens

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by bianca81, May 24, 2015.

1. bianca81

bianca81 Out Of The Brooder

May 24, 2015
    Hi
    We have just a week ago had some chickens delivered from the sheds ( there eggs were used for testing )
    They seem to be loving there new home but one is very featherless and has red skin ?
    They have just started to eat there eggs ? I have just placed some golf balls where they were laying but that seems to be slowing down now ?
    And non of them have very rev comb ?
    Sorry for the list of questions but I'm new to all this my mum had chickens but never had my own
    Many thanks Bianca

2. bianca81

May 24, 2015
    [​IMG]

3. junebuggena

junebuggena Chicken Obsessed

Apr 17, 2015
    Long Beach, WA
    Your chicken with feather loss is probably the result of overcrowding stress and poor nutrition. She needs a lot of protein to get those feathers grown back in, and she might not look normal until her next molt. Feed a flock raiser or all flock feed to help increase their protein levels. Offer a calcium supplement like crushed oysters shells in a separate feeder, and have it filled and available all day. Increasing protein and giving a additional calcium should resolve any egg eating. They might not be laying well right now due to the stress of change in their environment. Moving from one place to another is very stressful on a chicken, and the first thing that gets shut down is egg production. You may also want to treat all of the chickens for pests like lice and mites.

1 person likes this.
  4. BantamFan4Life

BantamFan4Life LOOK WHAT YOU MADE ME DO. Premium Member

Jun 15, 2012
    Washington
    My Coop
    Welcome to BYC! I'm glad you joined us! :)

5. drumstick diva

drumstick diva Still crazy after all these years. Premium Member

Aug 26, 2009
    Out to pasture