New Chickie Mom

cbarn

Hatching
5 Years
Apr 17, 2014
I got my first chicks yesterday at a local feed store. This is my first time raising baby chicks:) I've noticed that one of the has "sticky butt" I'm guessing from what I've read. When I picked her up to clean her off I noticed that her bottom is red and swollen:( What do I do? Help.

TwoCrows

A Native Raven
Staff member
Premium member
9 Years
Mar 21, 2011
New Mexico, USA
My Coop
My Coop

Welcome to BYC!

Congrats on your new chicks! I am sorry about the one with Pasty Butt. You will need to soak her butt in warm water to get the poop off. Then blow dry her off so she doesn't chill. You can put some apple cider vinegar in the drinking water to help balance the gut. 3/4 teaspoon per 1 quart of water in a plastic waterer only. Change and make new daily. You can also use probiotics. Human grade is fine. Just dump a capsule of powder into 1 quart waterer, change and make new daily. Don't rub the red area on the butt. That will heal as the pasty butt heals as well.