New Chicks Coming!

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by beetlebob, Jan 17, 2011.

1. beetlebob

beetlebob Out Of The Brooder

Jan 17, 2011
    I am in the process of ordering Rhode Island Reds and Easter Egg Chickens. They will arrive in February and I live in a town south of San Antonio Texas. I am just about done building the chicken coop and I have bought two metal feeders for chickens, a waterer and a 125 watt heat lamp. They will arrive as baby chicks. Can I brood them inside the chicken coop instead of a brood in the house? I've read where they need to be at a temperature between 90 - 100 degrees for the first week and then reduce the heat 5 degrees every week until they are between 5 - 8 weeks of age. Is this correct? Do you need to use pine chips in the brood or can you use hay instead? I'm a beginner at this. I appreciate all the help I can get!

Beetle

2. Lesa

Lesa Chillin' With My Peeps

May 28, 2008
    Upstate NY
    Welcome to the wonderful world of chickens!!! If you can keep your coop that warm, you could keep them in there. However, I really don't recommend it, at least for the first couple weeks. First of all, it is a good idea to have them in the house so you can keep a pretty constant eye on them. They seem to dirty their water at least 100 times a day! Also hard to judge how fast they will go through food. Once they are a little bigger, getting them outside will be a much better idea...Paper towels are recommended for the first couple of days- just so they don't eat bedding. After that, wood chips seem to be preferred by most... Good luck with your new chicks!!!

3. beetlebob

Jan 17, 2011
    Thanks Lesa. The wife and I both work and we have a cat in our house. I guess that's why I was asking if I could put them in the coop right away. I can get them brood to put them in and keep them in one of the bedrooms with the door closed until we get home. About how far does the heat lamp need to be at to keep them warm?

Beetle