New chicks, don't know breeds *updated pics later in the postings*

Discussion in 'What Breed Or Gender is This?' started by GardenGirl, Jun 12, 2008.

1. GardenGirl

GardenGirl Chillin' With My Peeps

Hi all!

O.K. I added the pics. I hope it worked because it is my first time doing this. [​IMG]

Also, if you can tell the sex, we would appreciate it. Thanks!! [​IMG]

We just picked up 3 five week old chicks from a friend who hatched them for a class project and didn't want to keep them. She thinks they are all silkies, but from being on here and usually lurking, I have to think different. They are all standard sized.

#1 is black with a little ridged comb, black legs and 4 toes. No feathers on the legs.

[​IMG]

#2 is black and white, not barred kinda just swirled and splashed, pale yellow legs, 5 toes, and feathers starting to grow on the legs. Also a little comb that looks like a button on the head above the beak.

[​IMG]

#3 has the same comb as #2, same pale legs, 5 toes, but is basically brown with some white and black markings on the wings. I think there is also a feather or two on the legs.

[​IMG]

Last edited: Jun 23, 2008
  2. fowlafoot

fowlafoot Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 22, 2008
    Midwest
    I don't know much about Silkies but I glanced in The Field Guide to Chickens and they should have 5 toes, slightly feathered legs , slate blue legs and a small almost circular comb. There are lots of Silkie fans on here so I am sure someone will have a better idea for you.

Last edited: Jun 12, 2008
  3. GardenGirl

Anyone wanna guess? [​IMG]

4. Mom2Cool

Mom2Cool Chillin' With My Peeps

May 8, 2008
    just a stab in the dark from looking at one of the hatchery sits, but could the one with black swirls be turning into this?

[​IMG]

Silver Laced Wyandotte

5. GardenGirl

It certainly does look like that and even has the personality traits of one as described on some of the sites, but it has 5 toes. Could it be a cross maybe?

6. mmajw