New Chicks for a Lonely Hen

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by FriscoRaven, Aug 9, 2013.

1. FriscoRaven

FriscoRaven Out Of The Brooder

Mar 20, 2013
    I have a Barred Rock hen (Pebbles) who is the lone survivor of a fox attack. I've slowly introduced her back to her coop/run where the attack took place over a week ago.

She seems to do okay, but I can tell she's lonely. She goes in and out of the coop with no issues, so I don't think there is any lingering trauma. But I can tell she's looking for her flock. I've exhausted about every resource I can think of to find new hens around her age, but no luck there. Rehoming her is an absolute last resort for me.

So I've ordered some new chicks to hopefully rebuild my flock and provide her some company. Pebbles was in my very first group of chickens I've ever raised, so I have no experience introducing new chicks/pullets to each other.

I have a few questions:

1) I know I need to keep them somewhat separated until they chicks are older in case Pebbles gets territorial and tries to peck at them. How long should I wait? Until they're fully feathered?

2) Can I keep the chicks outside with her in the outdoor coop as long as they are segregated?

3) The chicks will be 1-2 days old, so I know they need a lot of warmth, food, and care. The weather here is incredibly warm in the summer months, so at what age would it be safe to start introducing them to the outdoors?

4) How/when should I do the first introduction with the chicks? They're just babies, but Pebbles has been completely alone for over a week already. I want her to have company, but I don't want to rush it and put the babies at risk.

Anyone have help/advice or similar experiences?

Thanks!

2. sumi

sumi Égalité Staff Member

Jun 28, 2011
    Rep of Ireland
    I'm so sorry to hear about your loss. Getting your lone hen some friends is a good idea though. I'm sure she will appreciate it, even if she has to wait for them to grow up.