New chicks, Need some help.

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by rockhill2016, Feb 18, 2017.

1. rockhill2016

rockhill2016 Just Hatched

Feb 18, 2017
    Hello everyone. I'm new to chicks (family had adult chickens in the past) and have a few questions. I've got 12 chicks (orpingtons, barred rocks, wyandottes, Easter eggers, and delwares). Both Delwares and a couple of my Easter eggers have constant poop bum. Every time I notice it I clean it but it seems everyday I'm cleaning their bums. One of my Easter eggers got a swollen vent which I cleaned and put some cream on and the swelling has gone down. This morning I noticed both of my delwares now have bare butts. They have picked, or other have picked all the fuzz around their vents. Still though poop is collecting on the remaining fuzz. I have made sure they know where the water is and see them drinking. I have tried giving them some egg rather than crumble. My brooder has 2 heat lamps and I have placed them at different heights. Temp show around 95 on one side and around 88 on the other. One of the delawares seems to sleep a bit more than the other but in my daily chick time I spend with them all of them are running around and jumping up in my lap or hands. All seem happy and healthy. I did clean off a large amount of poop of the Delaware who is the most constant patient yesterday and immediately after she pooped a TON. Not sure what to do to try and mitigate the problem...any help would be greatly appreciated!

2. rockhill2016

Feb 18, 2017
    [​IMG][​IMG][/IMG]