New Chicks, Quarantine and Corid Treatment

jtmorgan86

In the Brooder
May 9, 2021
Hello All, looking for help and advice! I am completely new to chickens! I have 6 9 week old chicks out in their coop! Doing well and happy! I decided since that batch went well I wanted to go get some more. 🤦🏻‍♀️
So I picked up 4 silkie chicks that are supposedly 4-5 weeks old and that’s where I went wrong!
I have them quarantined! They have not shared space with my others and I change my clothes if I handle the babies. They have been here for a little under a week. They came to me covered in feces and started pooping blood every poo 24 hours in. So I did start corid treatment. Knowing 1) I didn’t have a vet confirmed case 2) that there are mixed threads on treatment of babies. BUT I had to try to do something ASAP I seriously thought they were going to die and not make it through the night! I shouldn’t have taken them in BUT I couldn’t leave em behind 🥺.
So here we are day 5 of corid treatment. Poop looks good! They are eating and drinking scratching around in their brooder. What should I do now? Should I drop the dose and continue? Should I stop completely and use a probiotic? There are so many different ways written about treatment. I’m so confused. I have been doing
Liquid dose:
2 teaspoons per gallon.

Also now that they have been treated the 5 days can I bring them outside in a different area from my older birds? I can bring them to the front of the house (I have a secured pen). Or is that too risky? I’ll also add they are terrified of me so now that they are settling I want to spend more time with them. I’m stressed and struggling! Opinions? Help? Ideas? Sorry for the long post! THANK YOU

Last edited:
I'd keep them separated another week and then start doing the 'see but don't touch method'.
You can take them outside, that shouldn't be an issue