New Chicks

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by countrydreamer8, Feb 14, 2015.

1. countrydreamer8

countrydreamer8 Out Of The Brooder

Jan 27, 2013
    Brockport, NY
    Hello All,
    I have been comptimplating for a few years now about raising chickens and now that I've been forced into semi-retirement I'm going to do it! I talked to my local Tractor Supply yesterday and they told me that the new chicks will be in at the end of this month so I'm trying to see if I can actually go ahead and do this. I have a shed connected to the back of my garage which used to be used for my dog. Mind you this area is insulated, paneled, wall to wall carpeted and also has a place for a heater and an air conditioner. 2 windows and of course a 'doggie' door. What I need to know is if I can put my new chicks in that shed in a 'brooder'? I think that's what its called, along with the heat lamp.

I'd appreciate any comments
    Countrydreamer8!

2. TwoCrows

TwoCrows Show me the way old friend... Staff Member

Mar 21, 2011
    New Mexico, USA
    My Coop
    Hello there and welcome to BYC! [​IMG]

You can brood chicks out of doors if you can keep your temps relatively stable. Remember, the temp at noon in this shed has to be close to the same temp at 4 am. If it falls steeply, so does your temp in the brooder. I would say if the temp doesn't vary more than 5 degrees from noon to 4 am in the morning, then you could brood them outside.

If you can't keep the temp stable enough, you would probably have to brood them indoors.

Have you stopped by our learning center yet? There are lots of good articles on all the aspects of keeping chickens including a section on chicks, homemade brooders and raising them to adulthood...https://www.backyardchickens.com/atype/1/Learning_Center

Enjoy this new journey you are on!! If you have any questions along the way, feel free to ask. Welcome to our flock!

1 person likes this.
  3. BantamFan4Life