New coop and integrating 3 age groups, how do I do this?

Discussion in 'Managing Your Flock' started by Noymira, Jun 7, 2011.

1. Noymira

Noymira Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 9, 2011
    Chittenden County, VT
    This is my first year with chickens, and I've got 3 different age groups: 2 one year old hens, 5 fifteen week old pullets and 7 five week old chicks. Our coop and run are almost finished and we'll be integrating the flock in the next month. The chicks will have a separate area in the coop and separate run until they are almost as large as the others.

My main question is about the timing of integration and how to manage it with the least amount of trauma. Since no one has been in the coop yet, I'm not sure if that will make it easier or harder to put the pullets and hens together.

Should I put the two hens in the larger portion of the coop a week or so before bringing in the pullets? Or put the pullets in first? I'm assuming the hens will likely be at the top of the pecking order I'm guessing, so I thought putting them in first might be the way to go.

Should I put the hens and the pullets in at the same time (but obviously segregated to start)? Would this cause fewer problems since neither group has time to get used to the coop as "theirs"? I didn't know if this would be too stressful for all parties.

As soon as the pullets and hens are together without incident I'll bring the chicks out, and keep them separate until they are larger. Our coop is 10'x10' and our run is split into two parts: a covered 9'x10' area and an open 12'x19' area with a door between the two.

Am I over thinking this too much? Some pictures of our coop and run in progress are on my BYC page if you want to see the space.

2. bryan99705

bryan99705 Chillin' With My Peeps