NEW coop build in Central Florida

magnumpi813

Hatching
Oct 11, 2017
Ok, my wife and I have been discussing getting chickens for a couple of years. With three teenagers and a ten year old, we go through a lot of eggs. So now my next project is building the chicken coop. I have some questions pertaining to the area where we live and hopefully some central Florida people are on here and can answer my questions.

I plan on building the coop 8'x8'x4' tall, elevated off the ground three feet, so peak of A frame should be around 9', with the run under the coop and 16' long by the 8' wide and 7' tall. So it will be 8' wide x24' overall length, but plan on just the A frame roof over the hen house. Just trying to keep it simple with wood measurements. I plan on using gutters to fill up a 50 gallon Rain Wizard barrel and running small hoses from there to water cups under the coop. So with all the rain we get I should never have an issue with watering the chickens. I plan on having 12 chickens. Not to breed but just for eggs. I am trying to make it as a convenient coop operation as possible.

Questions:
1. Windows for this area? I want to put windows in the hen house but it rains a lot here. What size windows should I go with so rain doesn't get inside the coop?
2. DLM??? That generates heat so not sure about doing that because adding additional heat to the Florida heat can't be good for the birds. Thoughts regarding DLM in Florida. I was thinking about doing poop boxes with the Sweet EZ stuff in it. But then again if you use American Hemp and the DLM I wouldn't have to scoop stuff all the time.
3. If I don't do the DLM inside the coop and do the poop trays with Sweet EZ what material should I use in the floor of the coop? I have heard sand mixed with Sweet EZ.
4. I plan on laying concrete blocks in the ground so that the run will sit on top of the blocks and no predators can dig in. If I did that, how could I secure the bottom boards into the concrete blocks.