New coop build

SebashtionH

In the Brooder
5 Years
Oct 1, 2014
Spring Hill Florida

Well since the fire of 2014 took out my almost finished coop, I figured to change the coop up a bit...
a friend of mine posted a link to a coop. I went to the site and this coop was awesome!!!!! I contacted the site and they only build the coops not sell plans. Now being a builder I didn't want to buy a pre fab coop, especially a $3,000 some coop plus shipping.
so I sat down and designed a coop inspired from that one....
Will start the build here beginning of February

Last edited:
I was looking at the cleaning for the other coop and with a 5ftx6ft hen box I would have to climb in to clean it on my knees, and that just didn't seem like a lot of fun.....don't get me wrong I was happy with the other coop but being that I had to start over there are always tweaks you want to do to finished projects and this time I could.
This coop the Nesting Boxes are down the one side and the coops are down the other side. I would be able to walk right down the middle and reach everything :) coop dims are 8ftx12ft and like 71/2ft high at the highest point.

I was looking at the cleaning for the other coop and with a 5ftx6ft hen box I would have to climb in to clean it on my knees, and that just didn't seem like a lot of fun.....don't get me wrong I was happy with the other coop but being that I had to start over there are always tweaks you want to do to finished projects and this time I could.
This coop the Nesting Boxes are down the one side and the coops are down the other side. I would be able to walk right down the middle and reach everything :) coop dims are 8ftx12ft and like 71/2ft high at the highest point.
I don't understand the layout. Are there individual "coops" down one side, or is it one big coop. Where do the chickens roost?