New duck just showed up what is it?

Discussion in 'Ducks' started by thefishery, Jan 25, 2012.

1. thefishery

thefishery Chillin' With My Peeps

Oct 19, 2009
    Jeffersonville
    My son went out to take care of the birds and came back in yelling, "Theres something out there thats black, white and green! It bit my butt and wouldn't let go! I was running around in circles and I think it's a goose!". LOL Obviously it isnt a goose. I have no clue where it came from. I don't know of anyone nearby that has ducks. I'm new to ducks myself. The 3 pekings in the picture we picked up last year at TSC. So this black duck was hanging around my run. When I went in to get the water dishes to wash out and refill, I let my chickens and ducks out. The black duck ran to my ducks, my ducks were like, "wth is this" and the black duck was like "hey wait up guys". lol It looks like it has white eye lashes. It has greenish feathers and its feet are orange and black. Does anyone know what it is? I know that the peking ducks have a curly feather if their a male and a female is loud. This little black duck doesn't have a curly feather but it isnt' loud either. It's a cute little thing though.

[​IMG]

2. Kevin565

Kevin565 Chicken Obsessed Premium Member

Dec 22, 2009
    Looks like it may be a mule duck

3. spectrumranch

spectrumranch Chillin' With My Peeps

Yes that is a hybrid (mule) duck, cross between a muscovy and a mallard type duck.

4. karlamaria

karlamaria Chillin' With My Peeps

Jan 30, 2011
    Western montana
    Oh how sweet! That chicken is funny, like hey who you? Lol are you going to keep it! It's so pretty!

5. Miss Lydia

Miss Lydia Running over with Blessings Premium Member

Oct 3, 2009
    Western N.C.
    It sure is pretty, Congratulations on the new member of your flock. It probably heard through the ducky grapevine your place was a good place to live. [​IMG]

6. thefishery

thefishery Chillin' With My Peeps

Oct 19, 2009
    Jeffersonville