New duck owner who needs some help!

Discussion in 'Ducks' started by Riverside Barn, Oct 16, 2013.

1. Riverside Barn

Riverside Barn Out Of The Brooder

Oct 11, 2013
    Maine
    I am new to having ducks so I need all the help I can get! I recently found out that I have a food allergy to chicken eggs so I decided to get some ducks because I love eggs. I went to a animal auction and bought 6 Muscovy ducks and 1 Muscovy drake. After I bought them I only got two eggs and then they stopped laying and have not laid any eggs since. I thought this may have something to do with just getting them and not being used to me or there surroundings but I have had them a little over a month now and still no eggs. Is there something I could be doing wrong? or do ducks stopping laying for the winter? I have so many questions and have not found any good websites that can answer them. If you have and ideas for me please share!

2. AmandaVirus

AmandaVirus Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 16, 2013
    Humboldt County, CA
    Muscovies are usually seasonal layers, most will be done for the season now, laying during the spring and summer. A better breed for eggs would have been Campbells or Pekins, or pretty much any other domestic breed. I have two Anconas and a Blue Swedish who I usually get 2 eggs from a day now.

Your Muscovies will probably start laying again in February. Age can also play a role in egg production. Do you know how old they are?

3. Going Quackers

Going Quackers Overrun With Chickens

May 24, 2011
    On, Canada
    Various reasons, large changes usually puts a halt to ducks laying, season changes do to, ducks are seasonal layers a few hybrids exist that are more prolific, as well aging of the ducks when they first begin they can be somewhat inconsistent. My flock has ceased for now and will resume next year, i have actually found my scovies to be pretty good layers, i have quite an abundance of eggs.