New Duck Owner with questions...

Discussion in 'Ducks' started by lunyre, Jan 23, 2014.

1. lunyre

lunyre Out Of The Brooder

Jan 23, 2014
    I'm totally new to keeping ducks. I ordered some white pekins (not the meat birds, just the standard breed), and have so far had a blast raising them. theyre a few days old now, and i have no complaints. Ive kept other poultry like chicken in the past, but Im not sure where else to go to ask about keeping ducks.

Im working up a design for an enclosure in my [very large] backyard.. and I plan on raising quite a few ducks back there when the spring and summer months hit. I am just sort of looking for opinions. I was thinking of employing some wooden stands and pvc/metal piping for a gated off and fenced in area (roof included), with a coop inside to keep them in at night. This is pretty standard for chicken so I figured the same would be OK for ducks. any thoughts or suggestions? :)

also if anyone was wondering I got these lovelies from McMurray Hatchery, I absolutely LOVE their customer service and how quick the birds arrive! No complaints there.

2. goats rule 101

goats rule 101 Chillin' With My Peeps

Aug 22, 2013
    Minnesota
    :welcome