New Duck Parents

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by waddlesandwade, Jan 28, 2016.

1. waddlesandwade

waddlesandwade New Egg

Jan 28, 2016
    Pasadena, Texas
    Hello. My husband and I rescued two baby ducklings yesterday. We have named the new additions to our family Waddles and Wade. This site has taught us so much. We are open to learning as much as possible to give these little ones the best quality of life. It's been 24 hours and so far they are doing great! I work with dogs for a living so ducks are very new to me. I'm sure we will have many questions and we are open to learning all we can! [​IMG]

2. ryanhodapp

ryanhodapp Chillin' With My Peeps

May 5, 2010
    St. Louis
    Welcome to BYC. I got my first ducks last summer. We love them---but they do make a mess with the water. Nice mud puddles for everyone.

3. Yorkshire Coop

Yorkshire Coop Moderator Staff Member

Aug 16, 2014
    Yorkshire, UK
    My Coop
    Hi :welcome

Glad you could join us here! That's so nice if you to take these ducklings in :D I'm not a duck person but i see you have posted in the duck section. I'm sure the keepers there will be able to help you with all your questions. The learning centre has a great section on ducks that you might like to check out, here is the link ~ https://www.backyardchickens.com/a/other-backyard-poultry-ducks-quail-turkeys-geese-etc

Wishing you the very best of luck with Waddles and Wade. Enjoy BYC :frow

4. Pork Pie Ken

Pork Pie Ken Monkey Business Premium Member

Jan 30, 2015
    Africa - near the equator
    Hi and welcome to BYC - glad to have you join us. You certainly have been thrown in at the deep end somewhat, but good on ya for giving the ducklings a break. As Yorkshire coop says, there are lots of members that keep ducks, so feel free to go to that forum and ask away.

Since you work with dogs, how long do you think it will take before your ducks are sitting on command? [​IMG]

All the best

CT

5. N F C