New Enclosure and Biting?

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by ajz09, Mar 27, 2017.

1. ajz09

ajz09 New Egg

Mar 27, 2017
    Hi! (Prepare for a semi-dramatic story[​IMG])
    I'm new to the world of backyard chickens. Very, very new. In fact, I just started the hobby on Friday. To be more exact, I was thrown into it.
    As I was taking out the trash that day my neighbor had stopped me and asked if I could help them out with one of their chickens. I knew they had been taking care of the amazing creatures for a while now. I loved them! Always so cuddly and full of personality. They asked if I could take in their newest addition, as they were moving to a neighboring state. Of course I had to say yes! Right before they moved away they left the little, pigeon-sized hen with me in a large, plastic flower pot. I was in love! She looked like a young Barred Plymouth Rock, but I'm unsure. (She's mottled with black and white feathers. I will probably put up some pictures soon! What a pretty bird!) At first, she was very sweet. I could pet her and pick her up with no issues.
    The next day, I decided to move her into a bigger enclosure while we were waiting for her coop and run to arrive. I bought a Sterilite container around 5 feet long and 2 feet wide. She seemed very happy to have more room to spread her wings out! However, after visiting her later, she shied away from me, pecking if I got too close. When I tried to pick her up to get her outside, she bit me. It didn't hurt, but it had reoccurred several times after that. She was also almost furiously grooming herself.

Does anyone know what is happening to her?
    Thanks!

Last edited: Mar 28, 2017
  2. Cluckcluck1215

Cluckcluck1215 Overrun With Chickens

How long have you had her?