New face from florida

Discussion in 'Managing Your Flock' started by crocodile girl, Jan 5, 2008.

1. crocodile girl

crocodile girl Out Of The Brooder

Jan 5, 2008
    Eh, I'll introduce myself rather than ask my questions right away...

Hello my name is Zelda. I am a biologist, I specialize in herpetology, which is the study of reptiles and amphibians. I live very close to the everglades, where I conduct research and send my results back to the labs via my computer. So, yeah, I work from home. Pretty good for a young woman, huh?

I own many large reptiles, and I basically have my own zoo. My "pets" include several crocodilian species, a komodo dragon, several monitors and a lot of snake species that live in my home in tanks. I also own a sulcata tortoise. The snakes are the only animals that live in my house. The rest are arranged in a zoo-like setting. I often have people come to my home (after hearing about my menagerie from neighbors) and pay to see my pets. Especially during the holidays and the summertime. I've been able to get most of my pets to earn their keep this way. I don't have time to arrange big visits from people though, now that the holidays are over I'm taking a break from guests.

I already own quite a large flock. I have at least 150 adult birds on my property right now. I have countless chicks. Remember that I live in florida, perhaps that's why I get chicks all year round. I don't collect eggs, I don't like them. So I order heavy breeds from the hatchery. My birds are all allowed to interbreed at will, so I have a lot of "chicken mutts", lol. Most of my birds end up as reptile food, I also eat a few. But the turkeys are still far more likely to end up on my table than my chickens, as the whole point of having chickens for me is to keep my carnivorous reptiles well fed.

Last edited: Jan 5, 2008
  2. Wildsky

Wildsky Wild Egg!

Oct 13, 2007
    California
    Welcome....