New from Lynnwood, WA - Someone left their chickens and a turkey on my property, what to do...

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by LynnwoodWa, Nov 1, 2014.

1. LynnwoodWa

LynnwoodWa Out Of The Brooder

Dec 10, 2013
    Hi All!

My name is Cyndy and I have inherited 5 chickens and a turkey from someone that I let build a run attached to a coop in my yard. I am an absolute newbie. I took them out some food and let them out in the yard today. There is two bags of food. One Layena and one is some grainy stuff that looks like you feed to many types of animals.

My immediate issue is he took the light out of the coop. Is there supposed to be one here? He turned it on when it started getting dark earlier. Also, the turkey's name is "Thanksgiving" and it's super big now. I don't have a clue what to do with it. It is super well-fed all year and is really plump!!

In any event, could someone please point me to the easiest sections to learn from, and tell me what to do? Do I need to winterize the coop somehow? The coop does not close 100% so it is cold in there without the light. It's not too cold outside yet but does get down to freezing a few days a year here.

Thanks for any answers!!

Cyndy

2. mtngirl35

mtngirl35 Chillin' With My Peeps

Dec 10, 2013
    Tennessee