New from South Carolina

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by lings143, Mar 9, 2014.

1. lings143

lings143 New Egg

Mar 8, 2014
    South Carolina
    Hi,
    I'm a newbie to owning chickens. I work at a vet clinic, and I'm passionate about animals. My husband and I already have 2 dogs and 2 cats, and we're interested in adding chickens to the mix. We also think owning chickens will be a positive experience for our 2 year old son.
    Any recommendations on the most kid friendly chickens would be greatly appreciated!
    I look forward to meeting everyone, and the site is great! So much information on here!

2. sumi

sumi Égalité Staff Member

Jun 28, 2011
    Rep of Ireland
    Welcome to BYC [​IMG] There are quite a few lovely, friendly breeds to choose from. I'd suggest you browse the Breeds section and the Reviews to see what owners say about their experiences with their flocks. Enjoy your new venture!

3. TwoCrows

TwoCrows Show me the way old friend... Staff Member

Mar 21, 2011
    New Mexico, USA
    My Coop
    [​IMG]

Orpingtons!!! The Buff Orpingtons and the Black Australorps. These birds are very docile, kid friendly, great layers and are very hardy over all. My Black Australorps follow me around like drooling puppies looking for goodies or a soft lap to sit on. HUGE lap babies.

Sumi has left you with excellent advice. Check out our breeds section to see what members are saying about the different breeds. Here is an external link to a nice breeds page as well....

http://www.sagehenfarmlodi.com/chooks/chooks.html

Enjoy all your poultry adventures and welcome to BYC!

4. lings143

lings143 New Egg

Mar 8, 2014
    South Carolina
    Thank you both for all the information!

5. Kelsie2290

Kelsie2290 True BYC Addict Premium Member

Feb 18, 2011
    Ohio
    Hello :frow and Welcome To BYC!

6. Hooligans7

Hooligans7 Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 30, 2012
    North-central Arkansas