1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

New! Getting ideas & answers!

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by thenewguy94, Sep 2, 2014.

1. thenewguy94

thenewguy94 Out Of The Brooder

Sep 2, 2014
    Hey there! I recently purchased a house with some land and have been wanting chickens for a while. Now that I have a good space to keep them I thought noes the time.

I'm looking to keep a small flock of hens for egg production. My idea of small is 4-6. So my main questions come from this number. Best breed? How big of a coop and run? Best feed?

I'm an electrician by trade and a woodworker in my spare time so building a coop should be of no trouble. If you have answers to these questions or suggestions let me know! I'll keep you guys updated on my progress as time goes by!

2. DaveOmak

DaveOmak Chillin' With My Peeps

May 18, 2013
    Omak, Washington
    My Coop
    [​IMG].... What part of the world you in ?? makes a difference on coop and run construction..... I live in N. Central Washington and in my profile is "My Coop" ... Click on it and see what I built.. A few things need changing... No biggee..
    About chickens.... I went to a local chicken raiser... http://justfowlingaround.weebly.com/ .... Took their suggestions as to what I was looking for... Had them raise the birds to 3-4 months old... Easy way to start...

Dave

Last edited: Sep 2, 2014
  3. thenewguy94

Sep 2, 2014
    I am in southern middle TN

4. BantamLover21

BantamLover21 Overrun With Chickens

Jul 24, 2013
    [​IMG] Glad you joined us!

Here are some answers to your questions: