New girl on the flock!

Discussion in 'What Breed Or Gender is This?' started by henoverheels, Oct 16, 2013.

1. henoverheels

henoverheels Out Of The Brooder

Oct 1, 2013
    Windsor
    Hi there

I have recently been asked to take a chicken, which I think ( although don't rely on me for expertise) is a Wellsummer. It is 16 weeks old and has been with me for six weeks. I was wondering if anyone could help in identifying if it is a boy or girl, as visitors to my home are all telling me I could have a rooster!!! I'm afraid I have limited experience in chicken keeping and for the last five years, have had hens only, for egg laying and as pets, so I am a little out of my depth. I cannot say I have seen any male behaviour yet, but guess the chicken is still a little young. I would like to find out as much as I can, as early as I can, as I have never had a male before.

Apart from this, my flock and the other new birds all seem to be mingling well.
    [​IMG]

Any help or advice would be gratefully received. ( sorry the picture is missing his beak, he was a little camera shy!)

Many thanks

Sue

2. HS Pye

HS Pye Chillin' With My Peeps

Sep 13, 2013
    Texas
    Looks like a cockerel to me. Good looking chicken anyhow! ; )

3. TheGeekySheep

TheGeekySheep Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 27, 2012
    Georgia
    Definitely a rooster. Note the pointy hackle (neck) feathers and saddle feathers and his tail feathers starting to curl. Welsummer roosters are handsome fellas.

4. Kelsie2290

Kelsie2290 True BYC Addict Premium Member

Feb 18, 2011
    Ohio
  5. henoverheels

Oct 1, 2013
    Windsor
    Thanks everyone for your responses. It's really kind of you all. Now what to do? I have never had a rooster before. He is a beautiful bird, but I am not sure how he will fare in my coop with three silkies, two rhode island reds and a silver spangled hamburg. I think I have bene trying to will him to be a girl-even though my husband named him Mario on his first day here!!!!!