1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

New Hen + chicks-adding to flock- Advice appreciated!

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by RockyRose, Oct 6, 2012.

1. RockyRose

RockyRose Out Of The Brooder

Jun 21, 2012
    Hi everyone! I have been perusing the forrums and learning center to try to get this right without too many issues but would appreciate any advice and have a couple of questions:
    Getting a 1 year old Orpington with her seven 3 wk old chicks to add to my flock. My flock is 4 Sussex, 5 months old, (1 is a roo), plus 4 RIR/white rock hens 9 months old. Started with the Sussex then added the RIR crosses, keeping them separate for a few days (but visible to each other) and the 8 are a happy family. I had no problems integrating them. Surprised myself as I am a newbie at keeping chickens, only started April this year.
    I know I will need to keep my new Orp and babies separate from the flock for some period of time. I have a large covered run so the Orps will stay in an extra large dog crate in the run so everyone can get used to each other. Also want the new Orp to know where home is since I let the others free range 2-3 hrs a day, and eventually she will get to free range too. She already does at her current home (a nearby farm). I've added a plastic crate inside the dog crate and hay as well for warmth for mom and babies.
    So my questions are:
    1) How long before I try to introduce the Orp and babies to the rest of the flock?
    2) Is there a "good" age to introduce the babies - that is, should I keep them away from the older chickens until they are bigger and just introduce the mom first? (I read one horror story on introducing only one chicken to an established flock so I am a little concerned, but I have already committed).