New Hen (EE) Seems Faral

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by Henryettaslady, Aug 8, 2014.

1. Henryettaslady

Henryettaslady New Egg

Aug 8, 2014
    Texas
    Recently got a 5month old Easter egger and brought her home she squawks makes strange noises and just doesn't not want to be bothered I am new to this and only have 1 other hen well I wasn't aware of quarantining the new hen and place her with my established hen.. Henry took the dominant role immediately and after she put the EE in her place she left the EE alone when I go to get henrys egg the following morning. The EE pecked at my hand and the pecks did hurt Henry went at the EE and the EE got free and ran away. I couldn't find her for awhile I finally. Found her and she ran (very fast) I got her trapped n when I went to grab her she started pecking me so I held her like a football n tucked her head until I put her in her own pen but was very upset I was touching her huffing and puffing squawking. And squealing. So I need help idk what to do.

Last edited: Aug 11, 2014
  2. drumstick diva

drumstick diva Still crazy after all these years. Premium Member

Aug 26, 2009
    Out to pasture
    Where did you get the ee from? Just sounds like she has had little or no human contact.

She is probably very fearful of you, her new environment (chickens don't like changes) and your other hen bossing her around. You can't just put an established bird and a new bird together. There are pecking order disputes and the new bird generally gets picked on.

You really need to have the coop/run partitioned with a wire fence or something so the two birds can see each other but, not peck or cause harm. This may need to be up for a month or so - till both birds seem to ignore each other.