New here and got eggs hatching tomorrow

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by bobwhite123, Aug 9, 2013.

1. bobwhite123

bobwhite123 New Egg

Aug 9, 2013
    Hello ive been snooping around the forum for awhile and decided to join because it seems to be a very informative forum. I have 12 rhode island red chicks due to hatch tomorrow in with the reds i also have 20 bobwhite quail eggs that are also due to hatch tomorrow now my question is will the chickens and quail be able to stay in the incubator and brooder together? If so how long will they be ok. Also this is my first time hatching with an incubator how long can i keep them in the incubator before transfering to the brooder. What other things should i do to ensure my chicks survival

2. BantamLover21

BantamLover21 Overrun With Chickens

Jul 24, 2013
    Chicks and quail chicks should be fine together for a week or so, at least until the chicks start becoming larger than the quail. Leave the chicks in the incubator until they are 3/4 to completely dry and fluffy; then transfer them to a brooder.

You should prepare the brooder today. Line the bottom of the brooder with wood shavings or chopped straw. Don't use cedar shavings, as cedar irritates chicken respiratory tracts. Place a chick waterer and feeder (or two) in the brooder. You might want to put some small stones or marbles into the water to make sure that the tiny quail chicks don't drown in it. And I assume that you have some sort of heat source, such as a heat lamp or special chick brooder, to put in the brooder. I also like to put a thermometer in the brooder in order to tell how hot it its.

The temperature during the first week should be 90-95 degrees F., and then drop by 5 degrees each week thereafter. Chicks that are comfortably warm will scurry about the brooder, eating, drinking, and sleeping. Cold chicks cluster together for heat, and hot chicks spread to the outside of the brooder, panting.