New here, from Charlotte, Michigan

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by BenBrown, Jun 20, 2011.

1. BenBrown

BenBrown Out Of The Brooder

Jun 18, 2011
    [​IMG] I grew up on a farm, we had chickens we bought at the local feedstore, we raised them for meat and eggs for the table. In 2000 I encouraged friends to try to hatch their chickens and we learned a lot.

I live in the city at present and have no chickens or other poultry, but am thinking about it.

I found out about BYC desperately searching for information about squab and raising pigeons/alternative poultry in the city.

I started out college life a thousand years or more ago as an anthropologist ecologist religion major... After 30 years it appears that is still alot of what I am. I’m also a rabid organic gardener/agroecologist.

I live in a shared home w/a fellow gardener. We garden, selling produce within our community of friends and church. My only pets right now are composting worms. I’m a part time nurse aide hoping to become a nurse and get into hypertension and diabetes counseling. I really, really like electric cars, but may need to resort to bicycles before I get through with nursing training.

That's a bit about me...

(I'm looking forward to seeing what the city of Charlotte allows for urban poultry...)

2. 3chimama

3chimama Chillin' With My Peeps

May 8, 2010
    Pacific Northwest
    Welcome from Oregon!

3. renart

renart Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 16, 2009
    Kingston, WA
    [​IMG] from NW Washington State [​IMG] Glad you came to join us!

4. whiteflare

whiteflare Out of the blue

Mar 13, 2011
    Sydney
    Hey [​IMG]
    [​IMG] all the way from Australia [​IMG]