New Here

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by kkline, Jan 24, 2017.

1. kkline

kkline New Egg

Jan 24, 2017
    Hi All,
    I'm a newbie forum member, and a tender-hearted newbie chicken mom. I'm looking for some advice regarding re-homing a rooster. I want to make sure he goes to a good (GREAT) home, because I have raised him from a chick and we, as a family, care deeply about his well-being. Any suggestions?
    Thanks!

2. redsoxs

redsoxs Chicken Obsessed

Jul 17, 2011
    North Central Kansas
    Greetings from Kansas, kkline, and [​IMG]! Pleased you joined our community! You might try posting in the re-homing forum here:
    https://www.backyardchickens.com/f/16182/animals-in-need-of-free-re-homing
    as well as you state thread which you can find in this link: https://www.backyardchickens.com/f/26/where-am-i-where-are-you
    And if you have other chickens and are a newcomer to poultry, you might do some reading in the Learning Center here: https://www.backyardchickens.com/atype/1/Learning_Center
    Good luck with your rehoming efforts! Best wishes and thanks for joining BYC!

1 person likes this.
  3. birdwrangler057

birdwrangler057 Chillin' With My Peeps

Oct 19, 2016
    South Carolina
    Hello! And [​IMG] so happy you decided to hang with us!

I would say find a home that could provide 10-12 hens, and enough space. Also, a place that doesn't have "anti-rooster" neighbors. LOL

4. Teila

Teila Bambrook Bantams Premium Member

G’Day from down under kkline [​IMG] Welcome!

Good tips from redsoxs.

I understand your concerns; having to find homes for roosters that I am not allowed to keep is the main reason I have very few hatches here.

Unfortunately, there is a glut of roosters looking for homes and we have to face the cold hard truth that they could end up in a pot. However, some are lucky and get to live long lives on farms etc.

I do hope that you are able to find a good home for your little man.