New here :)

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by happyasalways32, Jan 29, 2011.

1. happyasalways32

happyasalways32 New Egg

Jan 29, 2011
    Hello I'm new here and to raising chickens and quail.....but that's what we are thinking about doing. For home use nothing big. My question's are 1. Would it be better to start with grown chickens or raise them for chicks? Since I'm new at this(well my dad had amazing Rhode Island Reds when i was a kid but he did all the work lol [​IMG]) ? and 2. can you raise chickens and quail in the same coop? will it cause problems? Thanks for any help...

2. Chicken Chat

Chicken Chat Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 19, 2009
    Southern Illinois
    [​IMG] from Illinois!

Whether you start with chicks or full grown is up to you, IMO there are advantages and disadvantages to both. With chicks, you will need a brooder and heat lamp, but you do get to enjoy them as babies. Older ones will give you eggs faster, but then you also don't know what kind of earlier life they had so some could be friendly while others may not want much to do with you. Older ones will also cost you more to buy. With chicks you may end up getting a rooster, which depending on where you live, may not be a good thing, while you can be sure you don't get a rooster with older ones. It really just depends on your circumstances. They are fun either way.

3. happydodgefarm6113

happydodgefarm6113 Out Of The Brooder

Aug 25, 2010
    Welcome to BYC. We started our flock in August of 2010 with 3, 20 week old red stars that had just started laying, payed $10 each and they have been worth every penny.

They lay at least 28 out of every 31 days each. Then we were given three 10 week old buff orpingtons that started to lay at 23 weeks old and they lay 4 eggs a week each.

Then we ordered 6 chicks from MPC in september of 2010 and they should start laying soon.