New home owner - previous owners left their chickens!

JulieAnn0923

Hatching
Aug 28, 2016
Hello,

I moved into a new home about two months ago, and the previous owners left their 9 backyard chickens...in the backyard. We never anticipated having chickens, so I'm completely new to the game, and we have one big problem I'm not sure how to address. The previous owners didn't care well for their chickens; when we got them they were in pretty rough shape, but they've come around with a better diet and lots of fresh water. The problem comes with the coop. It's a small, converted shed, and from what I've read, the layout is completely wrong. The nesting boxes, which are beyond saving, are on a table that is at the same height as the roost, on top of a million other things. We're working to clean things up; we have to tear out all of the existing items in the coop because they're so dirty and covered in chicken poop that they're not salvageable. Anyway, I'm not sure how to move forward with this without completely stressing them out. I'm also not sure how they'll take to the new nesting boxes, or how to introduce them to them. Any advice anyone has would be much appreciated. These chickens have been through enough with the previous owners, I don't want to stress them more than I have to.

Best,

Julie

You all are really sweet to take on chickens you never planned on. I don't know what is wrong with some people. I guess they thought, "they're just chickens". Ugh. :(