New Homemade Chicken Feed

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by Shazmn, Aug 19, 2014.

1. Shazmn

Shazmn Out Of The Brooder

Aug 19, 2014
    Hi all,

I am relatively new to backyard chickens and we have a small flock of 3 girls. Laying everyday one egg each.

We have been feeding them "Peter's Free Range Poultry Food" from day one, however my husband is currently working a grain export company and has bought home bags and bags of human grade grains. I have put together a recipe for the girl's seed feed and I was wanting your feedback as to whether its contents are adequate:

1. Wheat
    2. Red Wheat
    3. Barley
    4. Lentils
    5. Canola Seed
    6. Whole Corn Kernels

I have made up feed with all the above with the exception of the canola seed which I believe is not good for chickens. I have also added black sunflower seeds, laying pellets and 1/4 cup of kelp granules. Can you give me some feedback as to whether this is adequate or whether I should be adding anything else.

Also, on another note, lately the girls have been totally disgusting in that they follow our Border Collie around waiting for her to poop and then they gobble it up. It has put me off eating the eggs. Has anyone had any experience with this and if so, has it affected the taste or smell of the eggs in any way.

In addition to their seed mix they also receive table scraps and other vegies. They love strawberry tops, celery, pretty much anything.

Any advice or feedback would be greatly appreciated.

Shazmn

2. Yorkshire Coop

Yorkshire Coop Moderator Staff Member

Aug 16, 2014
    Yorkshire, UK
    My Coop
    Hi :welcome I am sure if you post a thread in the feeding watering section on the forum you will receive some good responses to your questions. I have found this site both very informative and friendly.:frow

3. Shazmn

Shazmn Out Of The Brooder

Aug 19, 2014
    Thanks Yorkshire Coop I will do that :)

4. TwoCrows

TwoCrows Show me the way old friend... Staff Member