New homemade incubator first eggs temperature drop

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by hangin'witthepeeps, Apr 30, 2009.

1. hangin'witthepeeps

hangin'witthepeeps Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 1, 2009
    Colbert, GA
    I am new to BYC. I have 7 chickens that I bought from TSC and found out I bought 3 meat birds and 3 barred rocks. So the cornish rock crosses are due to be dinner in a few weeks so I did a lot of research on this site and decided to build my own incubator and hatch eggs. I used several ideas from members here (MissPrissy, speckledhen, GopherBoy) to make my own, thank you so much for putting all this information here. This site is a great asset. Now after building and stabilizing my temps in the incubator the temps are 99 to 101 with 55% humidity. The homemade water wiggler temp was 99.5 to 99.7 consistently. So I bought my eggs and received them, let them rest for 8 hours and set them in last night. Now this morning my water wiggler is reading 98.7. I adjusted the temp a smidge (very slight) and it has upped my temp to 99.2. Is this okay? Is this supposed to happen like this? If I set them last night at 11:00 PM would today be day 0? Also do I need hardware cloth on the bottom of the styrofoam incubator or just some towels or the drawer liner like some other use. Is there a purpose in the hardware cloth on the floor? I have lights and fan and water separated by hardware cloth. Thanks for your help on this. I have looked all morning and could not find a thread with this type of question.

2. Ruditchka

Ruditchka Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 28, 2009
    99.2 in the water wiggler is fine, the temp may have dropped due to the eggs drawing the heat from the bator while stabilizing their internal temps. Keep an eye on it for a few more hours, as it may still be rising and not completely stabilized at the temps you had read last night. Good Luck![​IMG]

3. hangin'witthepeeps

Apr 1, 2009
    Colbert, GA