1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

New in Hawaii

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by P-Dog, Nov 20, 2015.

1. P-Dog

P-Dog Out Of The Brooder

May 6, 2015
    Kawaihae, Hawaii
    Well....I didn't know I was supposed to start a new member thread when I joined a few months ago! Oops.

I'm brand new to chickens. I have eights girls in my flock. Six Buff Orpingtons, one Australorp, and one Black Sex Link (who was supposed to be an Australorp, but ended up a Sex Link!). I love them all to pieces. They are super friendly and all just started laying a couple of weeks ago. We are averaging between three to five eggs a day.

I live on the Big Island of Hawaii near the village of Kawaihae on 1.35 acres. That's about 45 minutes north of Kona if you know the island.

Our climate is desert and the average temperature is 84 degrees.

We have very few predators, but the girls are in a coop with a run. They don't free range, because we DO have the occasional mongoose and Pueo Owl. At night, we have rats.

We also have two rescued standard poodles, two rescued African Grey parrots, a rescued Jackson's chameleon and the neighbor's donkey thinks that he is ours. I had no idea I would love my chickens as much as I do. When I go out and sit in the coop, they clamor to sit in my lap and they all run to be with me. One of the Orpingtons will even jump onto my arm and use it as a perch!

2. Frindizzle

Frindizzle Guitar Girl <3 Premium Member

3. Michael OShay

Michael OShay Chicken Obsessed

May 14, 2014
    Montana