New in Indiana!

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by twoacrefarm, Jun 20, 2016.

1. twoacrefarm

twoacrefarm Out Of The Brooder

Jun 12, 2016
    Indiana
    Hello all! I am new to chickens and super excited to get started on everything. I've stalked the forum now for 3 months and my DH says I should be well versed in chickens with all my late night readings. At the end of April we bought 11 "pullets" and DH wanted 1 straight run (hoping for a roo, and we got it!). We got 6 RIR (or production red more likely), the Roo is a buff orpington, 1 white leghorn and 4 ISA browns. We built our own coop out of a camper car port and then built a coop inside. Spend our evenings watching the chickens and enjoying watching them grow!

2. sourland

sourland Broody Magician Premium Member

May 3, 2009
    New Jersey
    Welcome to BYC - wishing you continued good luck with your flock.

3. Jucodeo

Jucodeo The Sky is Falling!

Jun 15, 2016
    [​IMG] and [​IMG]
    Hey @twoacrefarm That is very awesome about your coop idea. i have seen a lot of great ideas and every time I always recommend them for the Coop forum because people love to hear new ideas. https://www.backyardchickens.com/f/9/coop-run-design-construction-maintenance I myself spend many evenings sitting by the coop and letting the Chickens roam and eat as many ants and other insects they like. Definitely saves money on food lol. Check out your state thread at the Where Am I forum so you can contact and talk to other Indiana chicken lovers https://www.backyardchickens.com/f/26/where-am-i-where-are-you I wish you and your flock the best of luck and I hope you are enjoying the Summer!
    Justin [​IMG]

4. Yorkshire Coop

Yorkshire Coop Moderator Staff Member

Aug 16, 2014
    Yorkshire, UK
    My Coop
    Hi :welcome