New in New Mexico

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by onenetmom, Sep 30, 2016.

1. onenetmom

onenetmom New Egg

Sep 30, 2016
    Hi All:
    I'm new to Chickens. My Grandson brought four of his chickens up over the summer, he is back in school and the chickens are still here.(Who saw that coming) We lost one of the bantam hens and the bantam rooster, to a pack of dogs about two 1/2 months ago.

The rooster was a beauty and the hen was my daughter's favorite. I, trying to ease the, pain tried to hatch 9 eggs that I thought might be fertile. I was able to get two regular sized and one bantam. Needless to say they are now all my babies. My flock is 5 in number but the chicks are still in the house, I'm afraid their Mom's will peck them. ( Good lord talk about a protective Mom.) The Chicks are 3 weeks old and have started to feather out. I sure can see the rooster's influence.

I am having a problem with the bantam chick, when I took her outside today I noticed she had what looked like dandruff and some of the feathers looked to have been shortened to the shaft. She doesn't seem to be lethargic or itchy. I'm paranoid.

Nothing like starting an introduction with a problem. (Doctor I have this Pain)(Party talk after and Into to a Dr.)

Anyway I'm glad I found you all, I can't really tell you what breed the chickens are. Only one regular sized Mom and two regular sized chicks. One small sized Mom and one small sized chick.

Thanks for being patient with an old lady new to chickens.
    onenetmom

2. N F C

N F C dem crazy bones Premium Member

Dec 12, 2013
    Wyoming
    [​IMG]

Thanks for joining us, it's nice to have you here!

You might try posting a photo of the chick you're concerned about over on the emergencies/illness forum to see if anyone over there could help you out.

Have fun with your flock!

3. redsoxs

redsoxs Chicken Obsessed

Jul 17, 2011
    North Central Kansas