New in Texas

Flock In Texas

Songster
7 Years
Aug 7, 2016
Texas
The title says it all. I've been a Texan for almost 50 years, but I'm a chicken newbie. I've been lurking and studying coop design and chicken breeds, but I haven't invested anything into this chicken thing yet.

I have $300 set aside in my "mad money" place, but I've estimated about $400 to build a 4'x8'x4' chicken tractor with a 2' tall secured run beneath. I plan to install 5 gallon buckets that are plumbed for water/food distribution and include fill ports that are outside accessible. I want to also use 5 gallon buckets as nesting boxes with large doors on each end to access the buckets for egg gathering and maintenance. There will be a front door on the long side with hardware cloth and a removable cover to help ventilate in the Texas heat. I may include a couple of small muffin fans and a light for when the coop is close enough for an extension cord. I will include eye bolts at the top corners to anchor the tractor for high winds.

I live on an acre about 30 miles outside of Dallas. The 1/2 acre back yard has a 4' fence and I have 4 dogs. 2 of them are under 10 lbs and are "ankle biters". We also have a pitbull/Dalmatian mix and another medium sized dog. I hope to be able to free range, but if not, I will build portable runs that I can connect to my tractor to spread the fertilizer and make cleaning easier.