New Mandarin Duckling, any tips?

Discussion in 'Ducks' started by Jeserah, May 9, 2011.

1. Jeserah

Jeserah Out Of The Brooder

Apr 23, 2011
    Sunny Central Coast
    Hello all!

To preface, I'm not a first-time duck owner, I have a 6 yr old mallard hybrid who is very healthy and happy, raised and kept on a proper diet and housed with care. I also specialized in waterfowl while I was a wildlife rehabber.

My friend let me take home one of her newly hatched mandarin ducklings last night (the one I received hatched around 530 PM) as a future companion for my hybrid, as my boy tragically lost his prior buddy last month due to a freak accident. I am very experienced in raising ducklings, but this is my first time raising an exotic, and I want to make certain there's nothing I'm overlooking. It needs to imprint on people because it will also be a future education animal which is why I had taken it so immediately.

Anywho, if any of you had any advice to share on raising these little ducks other than standard duckling care, I'd most appreciate it. Thanks for the help!

2. chickensioux

chickensioux Chillin' With My Peeps

Feb 12, 2009
    Western North Carolina
    I had call ducklings and 1 mandie baby hatch last year and I did not do anything special for the mandie. She did just fine and was a lively little thing right along with the others.
    Good luck and enjoy.

3. Jeserah

Jeserah Out Of The Brooder

Apr 23, 2011
    Sunny Central Coast
    Thanks very much!