New Member ... and a little nervous!

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by LittleLostPup, Sep 26, 2011.

1. LittleLostPup

LittleLostPup New Egg

Sep 26, 2011
    Hi all!

I am very new to chickens, in fact I bought a house and the owner had chickens that did not go with them... so... I now am the proud momma of 9 pretty girls.

I have never had chickens, I'm going mostly by what books I have found and came on here so I could hopefully get some help. Luckily the owner left the bag of food the girls were eating so I know that, but everything else I'm getting is strictly from books. They seem like really nice girls, they are fairly friendly and none of them peck or anything. There are no roosters.

I have no idea what breed they are, but I do know the little things are laying eggs like crazy. I don't really know what is normal... but I know the last 3 days they have laid close to 20 eggs and I have no idea what to do with them all since its just me in the house.

I have dogs, a rabbit and a snake, but I've never had any kind of birds or anything, so they are brand new to me, so please forgive me if I ask dumb questions or seem a little lost.

I'm looking forward to getting to know more about my new little girls. [​IMG]

-Emily

Last edited: Sep 28, 2011
  2. crtrlovr

crtrlovr Still chillin' with my peeps