1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

New member and soon to be chicken owner here!

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by ktmikal, Jan 25, 2013.

1. ktmikal

ktmikal Out Of The Brooder

Dec 27, 2012
    Colorado Springs, CO
    Hey everyone! I'm Mikal, and I live in Colorado Springs, CO. I've been doing research for about 6 months on this site to prep myself to raise chickens. Thanks everyone for the fantastic advice that I've stumbled across, btw! I have a few questions and would love if someone could help me out. [​IMG]

I just placed an order for 12 pullets, and I should have the lovely ladies on February 10th! I'm so excited. I'll have 4 Golden Sex Links, 2 Easter Eggers, 3 Anconas, and 3 Black Australorps. I'm considering going organic, but I'm concerned about the babies not having antibiotics in their food. Thoughts on chick feed with/without antibiotics? Also would a full size feeder be okay, so I'm not spending money on two? I'll get a baby waterer for them though.

I'm still working on building the coop for my gals, and I have a few questions. I'm trying to be thrifty when building and any suggestions will help. I got some left over scrap 1x1 boards and was wondering if that would work for roosts or if they'd have a hard time holding on because they aren't rounded.

I'm also considering doing my composting at the far end of their run (about 10 ft from the coop), so the ladies can assist in my efforts. I've read that you should compost near their housing though due to rodents and what not. Thoughts?