1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    Not a member yet? join BYC here & then introduce yourself in our community forum here.

New member.... Connie in N.C.,USA

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by inadcon, Feb 14, 2018.

1. inadcon

inadcon In the Brooder

Feb 14, 2018
    Hi everyone! My name is Connie. I have been peeking around in here, for a couple years while I lived in a place where chickens were not allowed, but have since moved and now I should be able to raise a few. About 10 years ago I lived in Wisconsin, (which upon recent reflection had a climate resembling the Arctic). Now I am in the SE in N Carolina. Much better weather, and a home with a nice backyard. When I lived in Wisconsin, we had Rhode Island Reds, various bantams, turkeys, pheasants, (not all at once) in a run-down old barn. It was quite fun until the predators came for dinner. I am planning to buy a new coop at my new location and will have around 4 or so chickens. Not sure what kinds can tolerate our summers. But I am learning new stuff every day.

2. Plip

Plip Free Ranging

Apr 28, 2010
    NW Washington State
    Welcome Connie! Glad you're here!

Chickens weren't allowed where you used to live!? I'm so glad you got out of there!

No, I know there are places where those regulations make sense (and other places where the local government just over-regulates). At any rate, I'm glad you're not restricted like that any more!

3. KikisGirls

KikisGirls Read more Premium Member Project Manager

Jul 31, 2015
    Houston, TX
    My Coop
    Welcome to Backyardchickens.com aka BYC! :frow
    :yesss:We are glad you joined our flock.
    Jump right in and make yourself at home.

This video will help you learn how to navigate this site:

CURRENT COOP CONTEST click here >>#1

4. TomZilla43

TomZilla43 Songster

Apr 23, 2017
    White House, TN