New Member from Alabama

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by Brewerpeeps, Mar 15, 2012.

1. Brewerpeeps

Brewerpeeps New Egg

Mar 15, 2012
    Hello all. Just joined the site a few minutes ago though I have been lurking about for some time now. I used the site to get many ideas for my new Coop. It is not finished yet but very close. Just built the external egg box today and was very proud considering I have zero construction experience prior to this project. I looked over many coop designs, ideas for what/how to include things, breeds best for the city, etc. Every time I searched for something I ended up here, figured that it must be a solid site and so I joined. Found the handy template for noobs so I copied it and will add it here.

I am almost finished with my first coop. Built over the course of a couple afternoons with help from my wife and the dogs, though to them help mostly means attempting to eat any tools left on the ground unattended. Just needs the front wall of the coop, a roof and the top for the run and we are set. Will eventually put a large door in one side to allow people to get into the run for cleaning, feeding etc. I have never really built anything before but this went well IMHO. I built it 8 feet X 4 feet and 4 feet high. The coop is 2 feet up and it floored, walled with privacy fence boards. In fact , everything except the wire was given, salvaged, or re-purposed. I was pretty pleased with the project so far. In fact, I built the nest boxes today and was able to work out a rear collection hatch to allow for easy egg gathering.

I will post pics soon as I took several. Enough of a post I guess. Glad to be here.

(1) Are you new to chickens / when did you first get chickens?