New Member from Dublin, Ireland

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by JasC, Nov 20, 2016.

1. JasC

JasC New Egg

Nov 20, 2016
    Ireland
    Hi,
    I am new to raising chickens. I only started 2 months ago having done a bit of research. I knew absolutely nothing about chickens before then...the last two months with my little flock of four has been a fantastic and enjoyable education...

I have found this site a great resource. There is some great knowledge and some real caring chicken people here...

In the last week a coupe of things have happened that prompted me to join here. My hens are now 22 and 24 weeks old and two (maybe 3!) are laying. One hurt her leg last week, cause unknown. She is hopping on one foot to move. She is eating and drinking fine and does not seem to be overly stressed. I kept her indoors the first couple days and I put her back in the run yesterday. She seems ok apart from still only using one foot. I tried to examine her for signs of illness e.g. Bumbelfoot. She had no outward signs of anything. Her injured leg does feel a lot looser around the hip joint. The only time she reacts (pain) is when I am holding the leg at the hip area. Can anyone suggest what may be wrong and what I can do to help her? I am conscious she cannot scratch or dust bathe as normal now and I don't like to think of her suffering in that sense (normal behaviours). Also, she is not flying/jumping. Prior to this she was the most interested in investigating her surroundings, jumping onto the garden table and onto the top of the run and coop when they would free range.