New Member From Elk Grove, CA.

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by garryc, Feb 29, 2016.

1. garryc

garryc New Egg

Feb 29, 2016
    Elk Grove, CA.
    Hello everyone. I've been surfing around on BYC for a few months and finally decided to take the plunge and register for an account. Here is a little bit of information about me.

(1) Are you new to chickens / when did you first get chickens?

We am new to chickens. We got our first five chickens as couple day old chicks August of 2014.

(2) How many chickens do you have right now?

We have a total of 7 chickens at the moment.

(3) What breeds do you have?

Australorp - Here name is Izzy:

[​IMG]

White Brahma - Daisy and Nancy:
    *We think Nancy might be a cross breed with a White Leg Horn.

[​IMG]
    - Daisy

[​IMG]
    - Nancy

Easter Egger - Poly and Carmella:

[​IMG]
    - Polly

[​IMG]
    - Carmella

Welsummer — Brownie and Lucky:

[​IMG]

(4) How did you find out about BackYardChickens.com?

Youtube and Google.

(5) What are some of your other hobbies?

Parenting, family stuff. Working on our lawn, planting bushes, shrubs and trees. Landscaping, gardening.

(6) Tell us about your family, your other pets, your occupation, or anything else you'd like to share.

Two kids. 9 year old daughter and 6 year old son. They both love the chickens a lot and play with them every day. We chickens roam free in our some-what large backyard pretty much all day. They have open access to their run and coop during the day and get secured into their coop at dusk. I work from home as a customer service / tech support phone rep. My wife is a stay at home mom. We have one dog, two cats, one rabbit, two doves, and a conure. We live on a 1/3 acre lot in a residential neighborhood in Elk Grove, CA.

[​IMG]
    - Our backyard (it's a little messy!)

[​IMG]