1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

New Member from Missouri

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by garnan, Dec 4, 2009.

1. garnan

garnan New Egg

Dec 3, 2009
    Hi this is garnan.
    I'm Gary the 'gar' part, my wife is Nancy - the other half. This is the first time I have been on a forum of any kind. I hope this will help us as I am new to keeping chickens. Some friends of ours are moving to Northwest Arkansas and asked if we would like a few chickens to remember them by. So we couldn't hurt their feeling and said yes. That was the easy part. Now we have to prepare a place for them. We have a 16' by 20' barn in the back of our lot with a 17' by 20' space next to it that's not being used. The coup will be attached to the barn. I figure an 4" by 8" coup should be large enough for 6 chickens (We can only have 6 in town.) and the coup will be in the 17' by 20' yard. My concern is the gound. There was a lot of trash, broken glass, rotten wood, poison ivy and peeling paint. I have cleaned it up but I couldn't get everything. The barn has not been painted on that side for a least 15 years and the paint is in bad shape. I am going to put down a tarp ( to catch the paint chips )and scrape it good and repaint. If the old paint has lead in it how can it affect a chicken or their eggs? I also have alot of leaves I can spread over the ground. Will this help? - Thanks for any comments - Gary.

2. SunnyDawn

SunnyDawn Sun Lovin' Lizard

Sep 12, 2009
    Nor Cal