New Member from Norco, CA

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by vyshtia, Sep 2, 2009.

1. vyshtia

vyshtia Chillin' With My Peeps

Sep 1, 2009
    Norco, CA
    Hi everyone! I'm a new member living in Norco, CA. I'm a veterinary technician living with 3 dogs, 3 cats, 3 fish, 3 quail, and 1 horse. I would never have thought that I'd be joining a chicken forum! My family have had geese and ducks when I was little but never chicken. I got the idea when I was housesitting for a lady that has 2 chicken and saw how much they liked bugs. I have a very nice garden and am an avid succulent collector - I run into bugs and worms all the time and don't know how to get rid of them...my answer now is to get a chicken! To test my theory, I dug up some grubs and offered them to the chicken, they loved em! After some research on owning chickens, I really warmed up to the idea of having fresh eggs - so now I'm hooked. We're going to build a nice chicken coop this weekend and then I'm off to find some chickens to own! I'm looking for some Buff Orpington and Wyandottes. I'm planning on just having 3 chicken (see the theme?), but there are so many cool chicken out there (never thought I'd say that) that I may end up getting more. One thing at a time, I think my biggest challenge will be finding a source to purchase these specific chicken breeds...and of pet quality too...may be too much to ask....

I've been browsing through this site and there are a lot of really nice people on here! A LOT of knowledge and experience shared too. Great site! Great people. Kudos!

2. joedie

joedie Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 17, 2009
    SW Indiana
    [​IMG] from Indiana!

3. sweet tweets

sweet tweets Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 3, 2009
    [​IMG]
    Enjoy your new compulsion!

4. NGT ANGL

NGT ANGL Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 2, 2009
    Locust Grove, VA
    [​IMG] from Virginia!

5. Little Ameraucana Mom

Little Ameraucana Mom Need Help, Can't stop hatching!!!

Jul 8, 2008