New Member from South Dakota

Jacquej57

Chirping
Jun 12, 2021
I have been taking advantage of this site since I found it last February, and officially joined a couple of months ago, so I figured it was past time to do my new member introduction! Because I am very literal, I will follow the prescribed format!

1) I am brand new to chickens. Last November my husband and I finally found a farm house that we could rent. Due to the pandemic, I was suddenly able to work from home so we took full advantage of that fact and moved 2 hours away from Sioux Falls to a 100+ year old farm house that came complete with an established, predator proof chicken coop. Even though the house is old and missing some things like a dishwasher or garbage disposal (both easily fixed over time) that chicken coop won me over immediately. In March I purchased chicks from the feed store and spent the next several weeks stressing over every little thing! That's when I started visiting this site daily looking for information and assurance.

2-3) We started with 16 Rhode Island Red and Isa Brown chicks. I didn't lose any in the brooder or for the first few weeks we had them in the coop. We lost one to a predator the first day they free ranged (which almost made me lock them up forever). Last month we added an Egyptian Fayoumi cockerel who is doing a superior job of keeping his girls together and marching around the property. He is respectful to the pullets and is only breeding with the ones who are squatting for him. We started getting our first eggs last Saturday and I am as proud of those little eggs as if they were jewels! Averaging 4-5 a day right now.